FoxTALE Faculty: Manually Enroll Teachers and Students

In FoxTALE, you may enroll other professors as teachers or non-editing teachers in your course site.

Students are automatically enrolled in academic course sites scheduled in MyGFU.  The student enrollments in FoxTALE are synchronized with MyGFU each night.  Additionally, whenever a person logs in to FoxTALE, his or her enrollments are synchronized with MyGFU and updated. When students withdraw from a course in MyGFU, they are automatically unenrolled from your course site. 

NOTE: At the end of the course you will want to manually re-enroll those students so that you can restore to the grade book any assignments they completed.(see below)  Once you have made a backup of your grade book, you can unenroll those withdrawn students from your site.

There are some courses in which you might ask that students enroll themselves.  These courses are generally sites for newly admitted students such as Seminary Front Porch, Boardroom for the School of Business, ADP Commons and Summer Online Commons course sites.    See Setup Self Enroll

Manually Enrolling a Teacher, Non-Editing Teacher, or Student

 Here are the steps for manually enrolling a teacher or non-editing teacher (rarely needed for enrolling students):

  1. From the course home page, go to  Administration > Users > Enrolled users.  If you’re using the Boost theme, click on Participants and on the next page click the Gear menu>Enrolled UsersGear Menu
  2. In the upper right corner, click Enroll users Enroll Users Button . (don’t see this? skip to Activate Manual Enrollment)
  1. In the Assign roles field at the top, select Teacher, Non-Editing Teacher, or Student. 
    1. Description of Roles:
      1. Teacher - can manage and add content to courses
      2. Non-editing teacher - can grade in courses but not edit course content
      3. Student - can access and participate in courses
      4. Quiz User with Unlimited Time- students needing extra time for quizzes

Enroll Users Screen

In the Search box, type in the person’s first or last name, or both, and click your Enter/return button on your keyboard to search for this person. 

TIP: Be careful of shortened first names.  “Josh Smith” will not produce results if actual name is “Joshua Smith”.  

  1. Once their name appears in the list, click the Enroll button to the right of the person's name.

  2. You may search for more people and enroll them.  When you're done, click Finish enrolling users at the bottom.

  3. You should now see the additional person/people in the list of enrolled users.

A manually-enrolled student/teacher will remain enrolled until you unenroll him or her.  A teacher may remove his or her manual enrollment at any time.

Activating Manual Enrollments

If you don’t see the Enroll button to the right of the person’s name in step two above, then you’ll need to activate manual enrollments.

  1. On the course’s home page, go to Administration > Course Administration > Users > Enrollment Methods.  Check to see that Manual Enrollments has been selected and is not hidden.  If Manual Enrollments is not showing, select it from the Add method drop down menu.
  2. Enrollment Methods Screen 
  3. A student is enrolled in the course site and will remain enrolled until you unenroll him, or her, or clean out all students by backing up and resetting the course.  A teacher may remove his or her enrollment at any time.    

    

Removing Teachers or Students from Your Course (non-academic courses)

For courses that are scheduled in MyGFU, there is no need to remove students from your course.  IT will keep the course sites for at least 5 years after the semester has ended to allow for incompletes and other special situations and to maintain gradebooks.  IT will also hide the old course sites from students.  After giving you much advanced notice, IT will eventually delete course sites older than 5 years from old semesters. No course site will be deleted without ample advance notice.

Students cannot remove themselves from your course site.  For special situations only, such as new admit sites, you’ll want to backup and reset the site to remove all students and their assignments, discussion postings, etc.  See the quick guide on resetting courses. (not commonly used)

 Teachers may remove manual enrollments at any time. 

You can remove a teacher, non-editing teacher, or student who was manually enrolled by following these steps:

  1. On the course’s home page, go to Administration block> Course Administration > Users > Enrolled users.  
  1. Click the X icon for the teacher, non-editing teacher, or student’s manual enrollment, located in the Enrollment Methods column.
    Removing Manually Enrolled Students or Teachers
  2. You’ll see a message to confirm the deletion.  Click Continue. 

Re-enrolling a student to recover Grades

At the end of the course you will want to manually re-enroll withdrawn students so that you can restore to the grade book any assignments they completed.  Once you have made a backup of your grade book, you can unenroll those withdrawn students from your site.

  1. On the course’s home page, go to Administration block> Course Administration > Users > Enrolled users. 
  2. Look for this button in the upper right Enroll Users Button
  3. This will open a small window to search by name for students to enroll

Enrollment Options

After you search for a student’s name, expand the enrollment options shown above.

Recovering Old Grades

Change the date back to the course start date….

To populate the grades back into the grade book, you may need to go into each assignment for that student and save their grade to make it visible again.

Questions? Contact the Service Desk | servicedesk@georgefox.edu | 503-554-2569